Percussionist for Fonema Consort

Consort : a group of instrumentalists and singers performing together

Fonema : (Spanish, phoneme) the smallest unit of speech, which distinguishes words according to their sonic quality.

These concepts define the essence of Fonema Consort as they commission, perform, and record new music that explores the possibilities of the human voice in an avant garde chamber setting. Known for their “enthusiastic embrace of daring new music” (Chicago Reader) Fonema is driven by a fascination with pieces that foster rich interplay of voices and instruments and that are characterized by deep expressivity. The ensemble is highly committed to presenting works by Latin American composers to US audiences and encouraging musical exchange between these regions.

Fonema Consort was founded in 2011 by singer Nina Dante and composers Pablo Santiago Chin and Edward Hamel. Since it’s founding, the ensemble has premiered over 50 works, and traveled widely across the US and increasingly in Latin America.

Fonema Consort, interpreta Mictlán* (1992), composición de Julio Estrada Velasco.
Dentro del marco de celebración del XXXVI Foro Internacional de Música Nueva "Manuel Enríquez". Universidad del Claustro de Sor Juana, Auditorio Divino Narciso. Jueves 22 de mayo.-

FONEMA CONSORT- Pablo Santiago Chin, director artístico

Kathryn Schulmeister, contrabajista y voz
Ryan Packard, percusionista
Julio Estrada, voz


*Mictlán, es parte de la multi-ópera "Murmullos del páramo" (1992-2006), basada en Pedro Páramo de Juan Rulfo.

Como la leyenda de Tlön, Pablo Santiago Chin

Nina Dante, Voice
Ryan Packard, Percussion

Come Live with Me, James Dillon 

Nina Dante - soprano
Dalia Chin - flute
Jonathan Thompson - oboe
Emily Beisel - clarinet
Kathryn Schulmeister - double bass
Ryan Packard - percussion
Owen Davis - percussion
David Kalhous - piano
Samuel Rowe - guitar
Pablo Santiago Chin - conductor

Coigitum, Richard Barrett

David Cubek, conductor
Nina Dante, soprano
Dalia Chin, flute
Jonathan Thompson, oboe d'amore
Danny Walden, piano
Ryan Packard, percussion

Si Chavela met Matta II, Pablo Chin

Nina Dante, soprano
Daniel Walden, piano
Ryan Packard, percussion
Dalia Chin
Jonathan Thompson, Aztec whistles
Pablo Chin, electronics and composition